

Presidents' Council Meeting August 8, 2024 Minutes for Review Presidents' Council July 18, 2024

State Board for Technical and Comprehensive Education

Council of Technical College Presidents' Meeting Minutes

Via Zoom

11:00 A.M.

July 18, 2024

<u>PRESENT:</u> <u>STAFF PRESENT:</u>

Hope Rivers, PTC, Chair Tim Hardee, System President

Forest Mahan, ATC Rosline Sumpter, Vice President of Academics, Student Affairs & Research

Kevin Pollock, CCTC AJ Newton, Vice President of Governmental Relations

Jermaine Ford, FDTC Amanda Richardson, Vice President of Apprenticeship Carolina

Marilyn Fore, HGTC Brad Neese, Vice President of Economic Development

Greg Little, MTC Randy Johnson, Vice President of Finance

Walt Tobin, OCTC Kandy Peacock, Vice President of Human Resources

Michael Mikota, SCC Warren Ganjehsani, Chief Legal Counsel

Vicky Wood, TTC Patty Lee, WTC

ABSENT: ABSENT:

Kyle Wagner, NETC

Willie L. Todd, Jr., DTC

Kelly Steinhilper, Vice President of Communications

Khushru Tata, Vice President for Information Technology

Keith Miller, GTC Rich Gough, TCL Galen DeHay, TCTC Stacey Moore, YTC

GUESTS:

Dan Cooper, Chief of Staff, Tri-County Technical College Dr. Derrick Bennett, VP of Business Services, York Technical College Eric Bedingfield, Assistant VP of Governmental Affairs, Greenville Technical College Dr. Derk Riechers, VP of Academic Affairs, Northeastern Technical College

CALL TO ORDER - PRESIDENTS' COUNCIL - Hope Rivers, Chair

Chairperson Rivers called the Presidents' Council meeting to order and welcome guests.



Presidents' Council Meeting August 8, 2024 Minutes for Review Presidents' Council July 18, 2024

REPORTS AND RECOMMENDATIONS

A. Legislative Committee Report- Galen DeHay, Council Liaison

Legislative Request for 2025-2026 Dr. Rivers turned the floor over to AJ Newton to update the timeline for the legislative request for the 2025-2026 fiscal year. Mr. Newton explained the timeframe for approval of the legislative request for the upcoming fiscal year. The proposed legislative request for 2025-26 is as follows:

Recurring Request

Base funding for the local colleges \$12M

Dual Enrollment initiative \$5M

Non-Recurring Request

Lottery Tuition Assistance (LTAP) \$56.1M

Continue SCWINS Scholarship \$95M

Equipment for high-demand job skills training \$25M

Continue funding for readySC to deliver on commitments made by the state \$5M

Mr. Newton explained that the \$12M request for base funding for the local colleges would equate to approximately a 4% tuition increase. He also discussed the dual enrollment initiative. Dr. Hardee explained that Mr. Randy Johnson had provided a breakdown of the allocation to the colleges based on their current enrollment of Dual Enrollment Students in the agenda package that went out before the meeting. This initiative aims to keep all agreements currently in place between the local colleges, school districts, and local governments. It is to provide services to more students at no cost to the students and parents.

Dr. Rivers called for a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2025-2026 Legislative Agenda. Dr. Fore moved, and Dr. Little seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>- Dr. Rivers called for a motion to adjourn. Dr. Tobin moved, and Dr. Pollock seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Hope Rivers, Chair	Date Approved by Presidents' Council
Date Reviewed by State Board	